Destiny 2 Changing Weekly and Daily Reset Time

Destiny 2 Changing Weekly and Daily Reset Time

Destiny has always had the same time (albeit a one hour shift between Daylight Saving Time and Standard Time) for its daily and weekly resets. Destiny 2 followed suit, keeping its reset day and time: Tuesdays at 2 a.m. PDT/1 a.m. PST. But that’s about to change, with developer Bungie announcing that players will see the daily and weekly changeover take effect at a different time of day.

The new reset time will be 1700 UTC, effectively pushing reset eight hours later than its current time. In Pacific Time, that means reset will now be at 9 a.m. Further, here’s a breakdown of how the time change translates across these multiple major time zones:

  • 9 a.m. PST
  • 12 p.m. EST
  • 5 p.m. GMT
  • 9 p.m. MSK
  • 2 a.m. JST
  • 4 a.m AEDT
  • 6 a.m. NZDT

This change will take effect on December 5, 2017 when Destiny 2‘s first DLC drop of Year 1, Curse of Osiris, launches. December 5th will also kick off Season 2 for Destiny 2, which will feature new Clan rewards, new monthly events, and new gear to collect.

destiny 2 mercury firefight dlc

Bungie made the change in order to remove the disparity between when it typically launches content (which has traditionally been 10 a.m. Pacific) and when reset happens:

Throughout Destiny 1’s lifespan, players would frequently encounter an issue where weekly resets would not always coincide with content releases. This would prevent impacted players from earning new rewards. Countermeasures were taken by disabling activity playlists, but we were unable to prevent every scenario. Additionally, we’re seeking to align the Milestone resets with event availability, such as Trials of the Nine or Iron Banner, to provide a uniform experience for players to follow each week.

The time shift of reset could impact players in a pretty major way, both for the positive or negative, depending on their timezone. US players won’t experience a late night/early morning reset anymore, with the reset taking place at a normal morning hour, or even noon on the East Coast. This means players won’t need to stay up late to find out what Xur is selling or to get their first raid runs in.

On the flip side, countries like Japan, Australia, and New Zealand will have reset shifted to the early morning hours. The UK and Europe, meanwhile, will experience reset in the late afternoon to evening instead of the mid-morning.

Destiny 2: Curse of Osiris launches on December 5, 2017 for PC, Ps4, and Xbox One.


Divinity: Original Sin II

Divinity: Original Sin II

14 September 2017
Cuphead

Cuphead

29 September 2017
Star Fox Zero

Star Fox Zero

21 April 2016
Expeditions: Viking

Expeditions: Viking

27 April 2017
Endless Space 2

Endless Space 2

19 May 2017
Halo Wars 2

Halo Wars 2

17 February 2017
The Walking Dead

The Walking Dead

30 December 2017